Back to Listings

Alliance Outstanding Member Awards shortlist announced

By Rachel Lawler
Alliance awards 2017
The shortlist for the Alliance Outstanding Member Awards 2018 has been announced today.
The awards recognise innovation and inspiration to others. They were open to entries from all Alliance members – whether they were in the first six months of their apprenticeship or had dedicated a full career to the early years.
All of the nominees have been invited to a special award ceremony that will take place during the Alliance’s annual conference on 1 June 2018.
Neil Leitch, chief executive of the Alliance, said: “With so many strong entries it was a real pleasure to sit on the awards panel this year and learn about the innovative and dedicated work going on in settings across the country.
“It’s an incredible reflection on the sector that, despite the challenges we are facing, the quality on offer shone through in each application. It’s easy to forget with the headlines about underfunding causing closures or reports about providers ‘failing to get children school-ready’ just how incredible our sector is.
“That’s what I’m most looking forward to about the awards ceremony: a chance not only to recognise some of the best practitioners and providers in the country, but to celebrate the vital work of the sector as a whole.”
The Alliance has also revealed that the awards ceremony will be presented by the TV presenter and commentator Jenni Trent Hughes.

The nominees

Outstanding early years individual of the year
Kate Shepherd, Bright Sparks Playgroup, Hereford
Rachel Patman, Cambridge Day Nursery, Cambridge
Linda Creed, Buttercups Pre-school, Kings Lynn
Outstanding early years team of the year
St John’s Under 5’s Pre-school, Dewsbury
Chatter Tots Pre-school Language Resource, Harrow
Steady Steps Nursery and Pre-school, Gosport
Outstanding Newcomer of the Year
Chloe Stables, Haxby Playgroup RB, York
Sally-Ann Barker, Potter’s House Pre-school, Yapton
Lydia Coveney, St Alban’s Pre-school, Macclesfield
Lifetime Achievement Award 2018
Carol Imms, Mill Lane Pre-school Association, Broxbourne
Mrs Susan Lister, Playlanders Playgroup and Pre-school, Cambridge
Karen Lindup, Romanby Pre-school & CabinCrew, Northallerton

Special Commendations

Outstanding early years individual of the year 

Brian Hill, Yavneh nursery, London; Pauline Browne, Magic Moments pre-school, Baldock; Becky Cox, Cholsey Pre School, Cholsey; Cheryl Drewry, Steps Community Nursery, High Green; Julie Johnson, Peter Pan Nursery and Forest School, Surrey; Iesha Notice, Ice Tickles Childcare, Dartford.

Outstanding early years team of the year

Plough Green Pre-school Team, Surrey; Springfield Bees Pre-School Team, Essex; Charnwood Nursery & Pre-school Team, Leicester; Little Hearts Team, Cornwall; Team Lodge, Zoe Evans Childcare Ltd, Kent.

Lifetime Achievement Award 2018 

Sue Roberts, St Michael's Preschool, Chester; Mrs Jean Scarff, The Owl Pre-School, Kent; Gill Moore, Hadley Under and Over 5's Nursery and Preschool, Telford.


Find out more about the Alliance Annual Conference or book your tickets.